R. Townley Paton Award

R. Townley Paton Award

The R. Townley Paton Award is the Eye Bank Association of America’s highest honor for corneal physicians. This award is presented annually to an ophthalmologist in recognition of his/her outstanding contribution to eye banking and EBAA. Since 1982, esteemed corneal physicians who exemplify the precepts of R. Townley Paton, MD, the father of modern eye banking and the founder of the first eye bank established in the United States, have received this notable award.

Congratulations to the 2021 R. Townley Paton Award recipient:

Each year, during the Cornea and Eye Banking Forum, the Paton Award recipient is presented with the award, and presents a Paton Lecture, for which the topic is related to corneal transplantation, clinical research or other areas specific to the ophthalmic community.

2021 R. Townley Paton Lecture:
“Well-Behaved Women Seldom Make History: A Look at the Progress of Women in Ophthalmology”
Jennifer Li, MD, 2021 R. Townley Paton Award Recipient



2021: Jennifer Li, MD
2020: Stephen Kaufman, MD, PhD
2019: Shahzad Mian, MD
2018: W. Barry Lee, MD
2017: Michael L. Nordlund, MD, PHD
2016: Mark A. Terry, MD
2015: George Rosenwasser, MD, CEBT
2014: W. Craig Fowler, MD
2013: Naoshi Shinozaki
2012: Jonathan H. Lass, MD
2011: Alan Sugar, MD
2010: Woodford Van Meter, MD
2009: Thomas D. Lindquist, MD, PhD
2008: David B. Glasser, MD
2007: Henry Edelhauser, PhD
2006: Michael Hettinger, MD
2005: Doyle Stulting, MD, PhD
2004: Wing Chu, MD
2003: Marian Macsai, MD
2002: Edward J. Holland, MD
2001: Paul J. Dubord, MD

2000: H. Dwight Cavanagh, MD, PhD
1999: Kirk R. Wilhelmus, MD, MPH
1998: William Reinhart, MD
1997: Joel Sugar, MD
1996: Mark J. Mannis, MD
1995: Richard Lindstrom, MD
1994: William Bourne, MD
1993: Arthur Boruchoff, MD
1992: Richard C. Troutman, MD
1991: Jay Harold Krachmer, MD
1990: Walter Mayer, MD
1989: Donald Doughman, MD
1988: Frederick Brightbill, MD
1987: Busharat Ahmad, MD
1986: Claes Dohlman, MD, PhD
1984: David A. Paton, MD
1983: Lawrence B. Holt, MD
1983: Herbert Kaufman, MD
1982: Alson E. Braley, MD