Richard Lindstrom Research Grant

Each year, the EBAA awards the Richard Lindstrom Research Grants to fund proposals specifically concerned with issues directly related to eye banking and/or corneal transplantation. The recipients are selected during the Annual Meeting in June and the grants are awarded in July.

The 2018 application period has passed.


  • Physicians, including corneal surgeons, and other eye care specialists
  • Basic scientists, including biomedical and social scientists
  • Eye-bank technicians, nurses, post-graduate fellows, ophthalmology residents, and medical students who are supervised by a physician or basic scientist associated with an eye bank or academic institution.

2017 Grant Recipients

Assessing the Effects of Ripasudil, a Novel Rho Kinase inhibitor, on Human Corneal Endothelial Cell Bioenergetic Activity
Benjamin Aldrich, PhD, University of Iowa

Change in Panel-Reactive Antibody and Donor Specific Antibody Levels Following Multiple Corneal Transplantations
Albert Cheung, MD, Cincinnati Eye Institute

The Use of Neuropeptides to Prevent Corneal Endothelial Cell Loss in Storage and Transplantation       
William Foulsham, MD, Schepens Eye Research Institute

Clinical Outcomes of Preloaded Grafts for Descemet’s Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty
Khoa Tran, PhD, Lions VisionGift

Hepatocyte Growth Factor-Mediated Promotion of Corneal Graft Survival
Sharad Mittal, PhD, Schepens Eye Research Institute

Effect of Different Corneal Preservation Medium and Conditions on Pre-loaded Descemet Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty (DMEK) Grafts        
Mohit Parekh, MSc, Fondazione Banca degli Occhi del Veneto – ONLUS